How Many Continents?

If you start thinking about how many continents there are, there’s really no good definition for them. We’re taught that there are seven continents (North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Antarctica, Australia), but really there is no solid definition of the word “continent” that arrives at that number, which is based on some vague notion of geographical landmasses and culture. So depending on how you actually define the word, there can be as few as three or as many as dozens of continents.

C.G.P. Grey, the guy who brought us the history of coffee and the difference between England, Britain and the U.K., explores the interesting issues involved in a new video:

From YouTube, via Laughing Squid



  1. Why Daylight Savings Time Should Be Abolished | Apt46 - pingback on October 24, 2011 at 5:21 pm
  2. Why The Electoral College Should Be Abolished | Apt46 - pingback on November 8, 2011 at 7:35 pm
  3. A Brief History Of Santa | Apt46 - pingback on December 19, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Trackbacks and Pingbacks: